Heart vs. Mind

What is more important, the Heart or the Mind?

 

09e8e165056a68ec98c677349b5ad6bc

 

Psalms 26:2 Examine me, O יהוה, and prove me; Try my kidneys and my heart.”

 

I myself as well as maybe others may viewed it as a car; your heart is the engine of the body, physically makes sure that the actions you want to do follow through. However; it is your mind, the driver, that controls what those actions become. They go hand in hand, guard your heart and mind.

Many of us have been living for generations with the usage of our heart’s alone. Working our lives based on our environmental surroundings not really giving it much thought. Is this wise to do? Meaning, our minds have been guided to have a specific mindset, perhaps westernized. Hence our being has been to uphold the values and work for this westernized culture, or wherever you may be present. We may be assimilated into a culture that does not nourish the need for cognitive development surpassing the cultural norms that has already been placed upon us. So we may live our lives going about not giving much though as to why we think, the way we do.

I’ve heard, and I myself have said in my ignorance “Oh god knows my heart” haha. Yeah sure perfect excuse for – let me do what I’m doing wrong in peace please back up! – But I was absolutely correct though. You see the creator YHUH does know my heart. Take his words not mine –

 

Jeremiah 17: 9 “The heart is crooked above all, and desperately sick – who shall know it?

10 “I, יהוה, search the heart, I try the kidneys, and give every man according to his ways, according to the fruit of his deeds.”

 

Truth be told, scriptures speaks heavily in regards to one’s heart…

We reap what we sow, and what some don’t understanding is that we are reaping what past generations have sown…

It’s okay, just strive to do better…

It is possible to obtain perfection. Through correction and discipline, however that doesn’t mean you’ve never failed…

Through the understanding of His Torah, we gain wisdom to achieve this…

 

1 Kings 8:61 “Let your heart therefore be perfect to יהוה our Elohim, to walk in His laws and guard His commands, as at this day.”

 

9edb437323be07783d08fb3e4d256942

 

One of the things that I have come to learn, in my journey, is to be actively conscious of the things that I do, because they are based on the things that I think. Which ultimately can be influence,  but only I can control. Therefore since I know that all that is of YHUH is good for me, (functional) universally beneficial so it is up to me to take it upon myself to live accordingly.

I don’t necessarily believe that one is more important then the other, but more so they are affected by one another… As I do, I encourage you to be truthful to yourself in the ways that you could correct certain aspects in your life, then apply it and seek the Truth. You’re not alone there’s many of us who are striving to do this on a daily. Ask yourself, is my heart clean and that of one who is like of the Creator, if not what can I do to better myself and how will this benefit me.

In depart I pray YHUH words comfort you…I absolutely love the scripture of the renewal of the spirit within us. Which I believe the local of it -the spirit- comes from the mind. The creation of clean heart, comes from the renewal of the mind.

 

Psalms 51:10 Create in me a clean heart, O Elohim, And renew a steadfast spirit within me.”

 

4e0b0bff509699de1133ad9ea73c7b0d

 

 

Good luck, May YHUH face shine upon you and order your steps in your journey.

-Shalum

 

Leave a Reply

