Shabbat Preparation

Genesis 2:3And Elohim blessed the seventh day and set it apart, because on it He rested from all His work which Elohim in creating had made.”

How do you prepare for the Shabbat day? I always like to hear from others on this. In my household I try to get everything taken care of the night before and leave the little things that may be needing picking up for the day prior to the Shabbat evening.

70057f04abd96c3d833bf414ae9fe805

I’ll share a little from what I’ve learned in regards to -Yum Shabbat- the “Sabbath Day”. The seventh day is considered the rest day in which Alahym Yahuah sanctified, which means it is set it apart for generations to keep forever. In the beginning while studying Genesis 1 learned darkness came before the light; evening and the morning.  Hence you will see, that in the Hebraic community the days are looked as beginning with the evening to morning then to morning to evening. We know that keeping the Shabbat day is one of the 10 commandments.

 

Exodus 20: 8-11

8“Remember the Sabbath day, to set it apart.

9“Six days you labour, and shall do all your work,

10 but the seventh day is a Sabbath of יהוה your Elohim. You do not do any work – you, nor your son, nor your daughter, nor your male servant, nor your female servant, nor your cattle, nor your stranger who is within your gates.

11“For in six days יהוה made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day. Therefore יהוה blessed the Sabbath day and set it apart.”

 

What I take notice, outlines how you are not supposed to labour nor cause any of those who are of you to do labour as well. On this day you are to cease from working, from my understanding is stop working anything that is of monetary labour, where you would eventually would receive or give other a payment. However, this doesn’t mean that it is a day that you are supposed to be tucked away  in a corner, not lifting a finger withering away. Like I’ve heard many act as though the day is supposed to go like this. Yum Shabbat is a sign, a distinguishing mark for the nation of Israel and our Alahym, instructed to be kept by us for generations! A day for us to Delight in Him. A day that it is okay to do “Good” in which you may know how I view -Good means to be Functional- … So yes, you rest on this day, delight in Yahuah, and what ever you center yourself to do this day would function around what Yahuah would want. Many take the time, to spend quality time with their families going over the word. Other congregate with distant, or neighboring families who are of same understanding to watch lesson’s, eat, or get together and feed their communities.

 

Exodus 31:16 And the children of Yisra’ĕl shall guard the Sabbath, to observe the Sabbath throughout their generations as an everlasting covenant.”

 

3cb78aef3e0875feed3c33a6a73411ed

 

Isaiah 58:13-14 

13 “If you do turn back your foot from the Sabbath, from doing your pleasure on My set-apart day, and shall call the Sabbath ‘a delight,’ the set-apart day of יהוה ‘esteemed,’ and shall esteem it, not doing your own ways, nor finding your own pleasure, nor speaking your own words,

14  then you shall delight yourself in יהוה. And I shall cause you to ride on the heights of the earth, and feed you with the inheritance of Ya‛aqoḇ your father. For the mouth of יהוה has spoken!”

One of the things that I like to think about when it comes to keeping the Torah. I always say it is supposed to be Universally beneficial for me. Physically, it is beneficial for me to rest my body. Mentally, it allows me to reflect on my path week, and my upcoming one. Spiritually, I am able to take the time to connect and nourish my soul with the word of Alahym allowing me to continue to gain wisdom and understanding. Which will help me become a better person, endure until the end, and pray fully be a better servant who shines His light to those around me.

But what do I personally do on preparation day?! Well I honestly start the night before after work, cleaning my household, start cooking my meal for Shabbat day. Since I have to work during the actual day prior to Shabbat evening. Great tip! Can leave food in a slower cooker during the day while you’re at work prior to Shabbat.  I make sure my car is full of gas, and I’ve bought anything I may need during my rest. (Mom’s don’t forget about diapers and wipes!) And honestly that’s really it. I take the time to have my material accesible and plan ahead in what I may tune in too.

When the Shabbat evening approaches, I like to make sure everyone is clean. Bathe my son, and relaxing. I literally may rest, fellowship with some of my family in truth, tune in into a lesson or too. (Check my Resource page for links) Then really spend some quality time with Ab YAHUAH, opening up my evening in Prayers for the making another full cycle, and see what else I may learn, through the Scriptures. Do activities with my son to continue to guide him in the righteous path. Maybe one day I’ll go a little further into this…. but as I write this Evening is surely approaching and I have a few more things to finish.

3622c38054fe00dc7083ed40952c72e0

If you’ve made it this far, Shabbat Shalum may YAHUAH face shine Upon You. Love to hear how you prepare and what you do for Yum Shabbat! Shalum.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

