Universally “Good” is Functional

How do you define ‘Good’?

Throughout my journey I have always met some good people. So I thought, from my own understanding of what I perceived good to be. However, just because I believe something to be good, does not mean it is correct. Like the saying goes ‘Just because something is Legal doesn’t mean its Right’. I remember speaking with one of my brothers in the Truth in regards to this very topic thought I’d share what I learned from him. He asked me, what does it mean to be good. Obviously giving the answers borderline too – Oh you know someone who does good things, keeps the commandments, lives righteously-. He quickly led me to understand that, “Good” can be a broad term, depending on who is using it. Good to one man can be killing a man, whereas good to someone else can be healing the man. So is there a definition for it? As always he took me to the scriptural understanding of what Good is. What does the Creator say “Good” is?

The Hebrew word for Good is

Tov /Tub / טוֹב  :   which means to be “Functional”:

“Fulfilling the action for which a person or thing is specially fitted or used, or for which a thing exists. A functioning within its intended purpose.”

Genesis 1:4And Elohim saw the light, that it was good. And Elohim separated the light from the darkness.”

He then proceeded to break down a single verse as an example. Now lets look at it like this: The Light is a Light bulb. The components: glass bulb with coiled wires for conduction, the physical being. Light being lets say instructions, order, the Torah.  That it was Good/Tub, which we are now viewing it defined as being functional. So here we have a light bulb and now it’s giving off illumination; it is functioning fulfilling its purpose in which it was created for. Pretty basic, universal definition that would make sense correct? To be Good means that you are functioning, or fulfilling the purpose in which you where created for.

Genesis 2:18 And יהוה Elohim said, “It is not good for the man to be alone, I am going to make a helper for him, as his counterpart.”

Another example, Yahuah Elohim, stated “not good for man to be alone” in which He then proceeded with the creation of many other things. In which, much was made but none could help as his counterpart like the creation of the womban.  It is functional for a man to be with a woman for it’s own good in various ways. Universally, whether you live in the Americas, European continent, or Africa we know that without a woman, a man cannot procreate. Which is one if not the most basic reasons as to why it is good,  for man to be with wombman and vise versa. In which with perfect balance and unity between the two the can ultimately become one. So that’s what I’ve learned maybe next time, when you think to say something is good, ask yourself, is this really fulfilling its intended purpose..


Take Away : Ever since I understood this -good-, my outlook has changed. One of the important things that are often missed when learning something is the application of it within your life. My understanding of the Word of the Creator has become to look at it as universally functional. I am training myself to be aware of my actions, thoughts, how I handle thing. To not only look at things, from the present time, but see the affects of it from the past, to help guide my future in reaching my goals. I know which ever situation may arise let it be fruitful and functional. If it is of the creator it would not be too difficult it should come natural and serve its purpose. I know, that if I am slow to anger and swift to listen. I defuse a situation that could potentially explode hence it would be good for me to practice in doing so. So everything in life, I try to put the creator first in my thought process and actions by remembering His words, because at the end of the day it only would be Good.

Thank You, Ahky AliYahu.

-Shalum.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

